How does the European Language Portfolio work?

Central to the European Language Portfolio are the six levels of communicative proficiency defined in the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. The levels are summarised for the five skills of listening, reading, spoken interaction, spoken production and writing in the self-assessment grid (see below). This is a key component of the Language Passport.

self-assessment grid

 Basque    Bulgarian  Catalan  Croatian
 Czech  Danish  Dutch  English
 Esperanto  Estonian  Finnish  French
 Galician  German  Greek  Hungarian
 Icelandic  Italian  Latvian  Lithuanian
 Maltese  Moldovan/Romanian  Norwegian  Polish
 Portuguese  Russian  Slovakian  Slovenian
 Spanish  Swedish  Turkish  

The descriptors in the different cells of the self-assessment grid are expanded into checklists of tasks that can be used to plan, monitor and evaluate learning. For example, the descriptor for B1 WRITING might be expanded into the following tasks:

I can write notes giving simple information to friends, service people, teachers and others who feature in my everyday life.
I can write personal letters giving news and expressing my thoughts about music, films etc. in some detail and getting across what I feel is important.
I can write notes or message to check information and ask about or explain problems with reasonable precision.
I can take down messages communicating enquiries and relaying problems.

When learners can perform these tasks in another language they can record in their Language Passport that their level for writing in that language is B1.


ELP home
go to ELP home

Friends of ELP on Friends of the ELP